To purchase medicinal cannabis in the state of Nevada you must have a valid medical cannabis card. Here are the basic steps for Nevada residents to receive a medical cannabis card.
Request an application for the Nevada Medical Cannabis Program.
Visit a Nevada licensed Doctor of Medicine (MD) or Doctor of Osteopathy (DO).
Submit your completed application to the Nevada Medical Cannabis Program
In order to qualify for a medical cannabis card, you must suffer from one of the conditions listed below and have a doctor’s recommendation that cannabis will help relieve that condition. The complete list of qualifying conditions can be found in the Nevada Revised Statutes, Chapter 453A, Section 050.
Acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS)
Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
Persistent muscle spasms (including multiple sclerosis)
Seizures (including epilepsy)
Additional conditions can be approved by submitting a petition to the Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health (NDPBH).
The Nevada Medical Cannabis Cardholders/Caregivers Program is a state registry program within the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services, Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health (NDPBH).
The Nevada Medical Cannabis Cardholders/Caregivers Program is a state registry program within the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services, Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health.
In order to purchase medical cannabis you must be a current cardholder or a caregiver.
Patients can buy up to 1 ounce of cannabis per purchase. More cannabis can be purchased it has been 1+ hours since your previous purchase.
Yes. Nevada is the only state in the country that will recognize medical cannabis cards from other states. Patients from California, Arizona and anywhere else medical cannabis is legal will be able to shop at Nevada dispensaries while visiting.
It depends on the state, and the regulations. Currently, Arizona, Delaware, Maine, Michigan, New Hampshire and Rhode Island allow patients from other states to use cannabis, but generally not buy it.
The medical use of cannabis was approved by the Nevada Legislature and adopted in 2001.
Yes, patients can grow up to 12 plants if they register the address of where they’re growing and list all the occupants with the state. Patients who live within 25 miles of a medical cannabis dispensary will not be allowed to grow their own cannabis without a special exemption from the state. Patients who are cultivating specific strains of cannabis not provided by a local dispensary may continue to engage in the home cultivation of such strains.
The cards look very similar to our Nevada state driver’s licenses, including a photograph and hologram. Attempting to create a fake card is a felony.
A designated primary caregiver is a person who has significant responsibility for managing the well-being of a person diagnosed with a chronic or debilitating medical condition. A Caregiver does not include the attending physician. The caregiver must be 18 years of age or older. Patients may only have one designated primary caregiver.
Details about who is a patient, the doctors who can help patients with medical cannabis, and the legal rights and responsibilities of patients who use medical cannabis.
Any doctor of medicine or doctor of osteopathy licensed by the state is eligible to recommend patients for medical marijuana cards. Some doctors may choose to specialize in treatment with medical Cannabis (see our referral page). But because medical cannabis remains illegal on the federal level, doctors can’t prescribe it.
Because the federal government currently classifies herbal cannabis as a Schedule I drug, it is not available as a prescription medication, or available in pharmacies.
The Nevada Medical Marijuana Act states that employers are not required to accommodate employees who use medical marijuana. You may wish to consult an attorney about whether or not to tell your employer that you are a patient in the NMMP. A patient may contact the NMMP in writing to ask the Program to release information about the patient’s registration to an employer.
No. Medical cannabis can only be consumed within a private residence.
Driving impaired, no matter the substance, is illegal. The same laws that apply to driving under the influence of alcohol, also apply to driving under the influence of cannabis. With some medications, it is difficult to determine if someone is under the influence at the time of a urine or blood test, because the substance can be detected long after the effects have worn off. This is the case with cannabis, because its metabolites linger in the body for an extended period of time. Because of this, someone could fail a blood or urine test, even though they are not under the influence at the time. State Sen. Tick Segerblom, Nevada’s leading medical cannabiws advocate who sponsored the 2013 legislation that established the dispensary system, proposes a better alternative would be to issue DUIs based on a subjective test using an officer’s observations instead of blood and urine tests.
Yes, patients can grow up to 12 plants if they register the address of where they’re growing and list all the occupants with the state. When dispensaries open, patients who live within 25 miles of one won’t be allowed to grow their own cannabis without a special exemption from the state. Patients who are cultivating specific strains of cannabis not provided by a local dispensary may continue to engage in the home cultivation of such strains. Patients who have an established history of cultivating medical cannabis prior to July 1, 2013, also may continue to do so until March 31, 2016.
No, not unless you tell them. Medical cannabis card registrations will be stored in a database that only Medical Cannabis Agents (dispensary staff) and law enforcement can access to verify whether someone is licensed. The patient database is kept strictly confidential and is not viewable by the public, meaning employers, neighbors, family, and even insurance companies won’t know you have a medical cannabis card unless you tell or show them.
Nevada’s medical cannabis law does not currently provide workplace protections for patients. If company policy prohibits it, employees can be reprimanded or fired for testing positive. State legislators have discussed possible changes, such as rules that would prevent medical cannabis users from being reprimanded if the drug shows up in their system as long as they don’t show up to work impaired. Also being considered, is the question of whether the Americans with Disabilities Act provides workplace protections for medical cannabis users with a qualifying disease or illness.
The Federal Drug Administration has to approve a drug for use before insurance companies can cover it, and that hasn’t happened with medical cannabis yet.
You cannot travel with cannabis, even if you bought it legally. Even if that state you are travelling to has its own medical cannabis program, it doesn’t mean it protects cardholders from out of state. Because it is a federal facility, and cannabis still is considered a banned substance under federal law, it’s not allowed at any International Airport in Nevada.
Because it is outlawed on the federal level, shipping medical cannabis through the U.S. Postal Service is illegal, even if you have a card.
Having a Medical Cannabis card allows patients to purchase medical cannabis and provides patients legal protection against state prosecution for possession, production or delivery of cannabis and possession of paraphernalia. The law also protects non-cardholders in the vicinity of someone legally using medical cannabis.
The statues for medical cannabis are:
Nev. Rev. Stat. §§ 453A.010 – 453A.240 (2008)
Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§435A.080(1)(a), (2); 435A.250(2) (2008)